More than 400 members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science have earned the lifetime distinction of AAAS Fellow, in honor of their invaluable contributions to science and technology. This year, five Damon Runyon alumni receive the honor that recognizes pioneering research, leadership, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations and advancing public understanding of science. The tradition of electing AAAS Fellows began in 1874.

Gail A. Bishop, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow ’84–’86), of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, was selected for her contributions to immunology, particularly for insights into the regulation of T and B lymphocyte activation.

Lynda Bonewald, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow ’85–’86), of Indiana University, is recognized for her contributions to understanding the role of the osteocyte (a bone cell) in muscle-bone interactions.

Ellen Puré, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow ’82–’84), of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, has uncovered new ways that inflammation and fibrosis contribute to the development, growth and spread of cancer.

David S. Ucker, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow ’81–’83), of the University of Illinois College of Medicine, has contributed to the fundamental understanding of cell death in health and disease using complimentary genomic and proteomic approaches.

Channing Der, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow ’81–’83), of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, is recognized for his contributions to cancer research through the discovery of the RAS oncogene and the elucidation of RAS oncoprotein function and therapies.

This post was originally published by Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation. It is republished with permission.